Calendar of Events

Public Meetings & Other Events

All upcoming public meetings of City Council , boards, commissions, and other public bodies subject to § 2.2-3707 of the Code of Virginia will be listed with other City events below and in the office of the City Clerk, Room 2300 of City Hall, 301 King St.

Date    TimeEvent
Nov 27, 2020 Fri 8:00 AMCity Offices Closed for Thanksgiving
City Offices Closed for Thanksgiving Holiday
Dec 2, 2020 Wed 8:00 AMARHA Board of Commissioners Special Board Meeting
The Alexandria Redevelopment and Housing Authority Board of Commissioners will hold a Special Board Meeting every Wednesday starting on February 5, 2020 and consequently for the rest of the year. The meetings will immediately convene in Executive Session to discuss important matters.
Dec 2, 2020 Wed 9:30 AMAlexandria Electoral Board
This Board Meeting will be an in-person (physical distance) meeting.
Dec 3, 2020 Thu 4:00 PMVIRTUAL: Community Criminal Justice Board
Regular Quarterly Meeting
Dec 5, 2020 Sat 9:00 AMCarlyle Yoga and Mimosas
Instructor led Yoga Course. COVID-19 Patron Guidelines and Social Distancing measures noted in event details.
Dec 5, 2020 Sat 9:30 AMCarlyle DIY Sewing Workshop and Brunch
Carlyle DIY Sewing Workshop and Brunch. COVID-19 Patron Guidelines and Social Distancing measures noted in event details.
Dec 5, 2020 Sat 11:00 AMVIRTUAL: Kwanzaa How-to Workshop
Learn how to celebrate Kwanzaa at home.
Dec 8, 2020 Tue 7:00 PMCFW Executive Committee Meeting
The Alexandria Commission for Women Executive Committee Meeting takes place every second Tuesday of the month.
Dec 8, 2020 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Legislative Meeting
City Council First Legislative Meeting Location TBD
Dec 9, 2020 Wed 8:00 AMARHA Board of Commissioners Special Board Meeting
The Alexandria Redevelopment and Housing Authority Board of Commissioners will hold a Special Board Meeting every Wednesday starting on February 5, 2020 and consequently for the rest of the year. The meetings will immediately convene in Executive Session to discuss important matters.
Dec 9, 2020 Wed 7:00 PMVIRTUAL: Alexandria Mobility Plan Advisory Meeting
Regularly scheduled meeting of the Alexandria Mobility Plan Advisory Committee will be held via Zoom.
Dec 9, 2020 Wed 7:00 PMVIRTUAL Open Space Policy Plan Steering Committee
Open Space Steering Committee Meeting to continue to advance Task 1 of the Open Space Policy Plan.
Dec 10, 2020 Thu 8:45 AMSupplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board
Meeting of the Supplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board. The Board manages the investments of the pension plan assets. This plan provides retirement benefits for eligible General Schedule employees, Deputy Sheriffs, Medics, and Fire Marshals. During the meeting the Board may review the fund's investments and hear from current and potential investment ...
Dec 10, 2020 Thu 8:45 AMFire and Police Officers Pension Plan Board Meet
Due Diligence meeting of the Firefighters and Police Officers Pension Plan Board. The Board will review reports related to the investments of the pension fund The Board will also review related issues brought to their attention.
Dec 10, 2020 Thu 12:00 PMSustain Your Art Practice During COVID-19
Torpedo Factory Art Center and the City of Alexandria’s Office of the Arts are pairing up for a series of free online workshops to support artists, makers, and creative businesses as they adapt to the new normal during the COVID-19 pandemic. Session December 10 starts at noon. RSVP to arts@alexandriava.gov to receive login information.
Dec 12, 2020 Sat 9:30 AMCity Council Public Hearing Meeting
City Council Monthly Public Hearing Location TBD
Dec 14, 2020 Mon 7:00 PMVirtual Board of Zoning Appeals
Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic emergency, the December 14, 2020 meeting of the Board of Zoning Appeals is being held electronically pursuant to Virginia Code Section 2.2-3708.2(A)(3), the Continuity of Government ordinance adopted by the City Council on June 20, 2020 or Section 4-0.01(g) in HB29 and HB30, enacted by the 2020 Virginia General Assembly ...
Dec 15, 2020 Tue 12:00 AMPersonal Property Tax Deadline
Deadline to pay Vehicle and Business Personal Property Taxes.
Dec 15, 2020 Tue 6:00 PMAlexandria Renew Board Directors Meeting
Alexandria Renew Board of Directors Meeting - Regular Monthly Meeting
Dec 16, 2020 Wed 8:00 AMARHA Board of Commissioners Special Board Meeting
The Alexandria Redevelopment and Housing Authority Board of Commissioners will hold a Special Board Meeting every Wednesday starting on February 5, 2020 and consequently for the rest of the year. The meetings will immediately convene in Executive Session to discuss important matters.
Dec 16, 2020 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic emergency, the December 16, 2020 meeting of the Board of Architectural Review (BAR) is being held electronically pursuant to Virginia Code Section 2.2-3708.2(A)(3), the Continuity of Government ordinance adopted by the City Council on June 20, 2020 or Sections 4-0.00(g) in HB29 and HB30 to undertake essential business. BAR ...
Dec 16, 2020 Wed
CANCELLED: ACFW 100th Anniversary Planning Meeting
The Alexandria Commission for Women’s 100th Anniversary Planning Committee will meet at Panera Bread (3201 Duke St.), every Wednesday of the month.
Dec 16, 2020 Wed 7:00 PMVIRTUAL-Transportation Commission Monthly Meeting
Regularly scheduled meeting of the Transportation Commission.
Dec 17, 2020 Thu 7:00 PMVIRTUAL - Carlyle Design Review Special Meeting
Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic emergency, the December 17, 2020 Special Meeting for the Carlyle/Eisenhower East Design Review Board (DRB) is being held electronically pursuant to Virginia Code Section 2.2-3708.2(A)(3), the Continuity of Government ordinance adopted by the City Council on June 20, 2020 or Section 4-0.01(g) in HB29 and HB30, enacted by ...
Dec 23, 2020 Wed 8:00 AMARHA Board of Commissioners Special Board Meeting
The Alexandria Redevelopment and Housing Authority Board of Commissioners will hold a Special Board Meeting every Wednesday starting on February 5, 2020 and consequently for the rest of the year. The meetings will immediately convene in Executive Session to discuss important matters.
Dec 24, 2020 Thu 8:00 AMCity Offices Closed for Christmas Holiday
City Offices Closed for Christmas Holiday
Dec 25, 2020 Fri 8:00 AMCity Offices Closed for Christmas Holiday
City Offices Closed for Christmas Holiday
Dec 28, 2020 Mon 7:00 PMPotomac Yard Metrorail Implementation Work Group
The public is invited to attend the next Potomac Yard Metrorail Implementation Work Group (PYMIG) meeting, scheduled for Monday, December 28, from 7 to 9 PM, in the Multipurpose Room at Charles Houston Recreation Center. The City will provide updates on the Potomac Yard Metrorail Station project. Additional information about PYMIG, including the ...
Dec 30, 2020 Wed 8:00 AMARHA Board of Commissioners Special Board Meeting
The Alexandria Redevelopment and Housing Authority Board of Commissioners will hold a Special Board Meeting every Wednesday starting on February 5, 2020 and consequently for the rest of the year. The meetings will immediately convene in Executive Session to discuss important matters.
Jan 5, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission Regular Monthly Meeting
Regular monthly meeting of the Planning Commission
Jan 6, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing. *Hearing end times are approximate.
Jan 8, 2021 Fri 8:00 AMHealth and Safety Coordinating Committee
Regular Meeting.
Jan 11, 2021 Mon 7:00 PMBoard of Zoning Appeals
Information will be added at a later date.
Jan 12, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Legislative Meeting
City Council First Legislative Meeting Location TBD
Jan 20, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Jan 21, 2021 Thu 7:00 PMCarlyle/Eisenhower East Design Review Board (DRB)
Information will be added at a later date.
Jan 23, 2021 Sat 9:30 AMCity Council Public Hearing Meeting
City Council Monthly Public Hearing Location TBD
Jan 26, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Legislative Meeting
City Council Second Legislative Meeting Location TBD
Feb 2, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission Regular Monthly Meeting
Regular monthly meeting of the Planning Commission
Feb 3, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Feb 8, 2021 Mon 7:00 PMBoard of Zoning Appeals
Information will be added at a later date.
Feb 9, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Legislative Meeting
City Council First Legislative Meeting Location TBD
Feb 16, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMFY 2022 Proposed Budget Presentation to the Public
City Manager FY 2022 Proposed Budget Presentation. Work Session # 1
Feb 17, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Feb 18, 2021 Thu 7:00 PMFY 2022 Proposed Budget Presentation to the Public
City Manager FY 2022 Proposed Budget Presentation.
Feb 20, 2021 Sat 9:30 AMCity Council Public Hearing Meeting
City Council Monthly Public Hearing Location TBD
Feb 23, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Legislative Meeting
City Council Second Legislative Meeting Location TBD
Feb 24, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBudget Work Session # 2
Work session # 2
Mar 2, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission Regular Monthly Meeting
Regular monthly meeting of the Planning Commission
Mar 3, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBudget Work Session # 3
Work session # 3
Mar 3, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Mar 5, 2021 Fri 8:00 AMHealth and Safety Coordinating Committee
Regular Meeting.
Mar 8, 2021 Mon 5:30 PMBudget Public Hearing
Special Council Meeting - Budget Public Hearing
Mar 8, 2021 Mon 7:00 PMBoard of Zoning Appeals
Information will be added at a later date.
Mar 9, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Legislative Meeting (Max Tax Rate)
City Council First Legislative Meeting Location TBD (Maximum Tax Rate will be proposed)
Mar 10, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBudget Work Session # 4
Work session # 4
Mar 13, 2021 Sat 9:30 AMCity Council Public Hearing Meeting
City Council Monthly Public Hearing Location TBD
Mar 17, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBudget Work Session # 5
Work session # 5
Mar 17, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Mar 18, 2021 Thu 7:00 PMCarlyle/Eisenhower East Design Review Board (DRB)
Information will be added at a later date.
Mar 23, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Legislative Meeting
City Council Second Legislative Meeting Location TBD
Mar 24, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBudget Work Session # 6
Work session # 6
Apr 6, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Legislative Meeting
City Council First Legislative Meeting Location TBD
Apr 7, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBudget Work Session # 7
Work session # 7
Apr 7, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Apr 8, 2021 Thu 7:00 PMPlanning Commission Regular Monthly Meeting
Regular monthly meeting of the Planning Commission
Apr 12, 2021 Mon 7:00 PMBudget Work Session # 8
Work session # 8
Apr 12, 2021 Mon 7:00 PMBoard of Zoning Appeals
Information will be added at a later date.
Apr 17, 2021 Sat 9:30 AMCity Council Public Hearing Meeting
City Council Monthly Public Hearing Location TBD - Effective Tax Rate Hearing
Apr 21, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Apr 27, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Legislative Meeting
City Council Second Legislative Meeting Preliminary Add/Delete Location TBD -
May 3, 2021 Mon 7:00 PMFinal Add/Delete
Final Add/Delete
May 3, 2021 Mon 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
May 4, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission Regular Monthly Meeting
Regular monthly meeting of the Planning Commission
May 5, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBudget Adoption
Budget Adoption
May 7, 2021 Fri 8:00 AMHealth and Safety Coordinating Committee
Regular Meeting.
May 10, 2021 Mon 7:00 PMBoard of Zoning Appeals
Information will be added at a later date.
May 11, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Legislative Meeting
City Council First Legislative Meeting Location TBD
May 15, 2021 Sat 9:30 AMCity Council Public Hearing Meeting
City Council Monthly Public Hearing Location TBD
May 19, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
May 21, 2021 Fri 7:00 PMCarlyle/Eisenhower East Design Review Board (DRB)
Information will be added at a later date.
May 25, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Legislative Meeting
City Council Second Legislative Meeting Location TBD
Jun 1, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission Regular Monthly Meeting
Regular monthly meeting of the Planning Commission
Jun 2, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Jun 8, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Legislative Meeting
City Council First Legislative Meeting Location TBD
Jun 12, 2021 Sat 9:30 AMCity Council Public Hearing Meeting
City Council Monthly Public Hearing Location TBD
Jun 14, 2021 Mon 7:00 PMBoard of Zoning Appeals
Information will be added at a later date.
Jun 15, 2021 Tue 12:00 AMFirst Half Real Estate Tax Payments Due
First Half Real Estate Taxes are due.
Jun 16, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Jun 22, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Legislative Meeting
City Council Second Legislative Meeting Location TBD
Jun 24, 2021 Thu 7:00 PMPlanning Commission Regular Monthly Meeting
Regular monthly meeting of the Planning Commission
Jul 7, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Jul 12, 2021 Mon 7:00 PMBoard of Zoning Appeals
Information will be added at a later date.
Jul 15, 2021 Thu 7:00 PMCarlyle/Eisenhower East Design Review Board (DRB)
Information will be added at a later date.
Jul 21, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Sep 1, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Sep 3, 2021 Fri 8:00 AMHealth and Safety Coordinating Committee
Regular Meeting.
Sep 9, 2021 Thu 7:00 PMPlanning Commission Regular Monthly Meeting
Regular monthly meeting of the Planning Commission
Sep 13, 2021 Mon 7:00 PMBoard of Zoning Appeals
Information will be added at a later date.
Sep 16, 2021 Thu 7:30 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Sep 16, 2021 Thu 7:30 PMCarlyle/Eisenhower East Design Review Board (DRB)
Information will be added at a later date.
Oct 5, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission Regular Monthly Meeting
Regular monthly meeting of the Planning Commission
Oct 6, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Oct 18, 2021 Mon 7:00 PMBoard of Zoning Appeals
Information will be added at a later date.
Oct 20, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Nov 3, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Nov 4, 2021 Thu 7:00 PMPlanning Commission Regular Monthly Meeting
Regular monthly meeting of the Planning Commission
Nov 5, 2021 Fri 8:00 AMHealth and Safety Coordinating Committee
Regular Meeting.
Nov 8, 2021 Mon 7:00 PMBoard of Zoning Appeals
Information will be added at a later date.
Nov 15, 2021 Mon 12:00 AMSecond Half Real Estate Tax Payments Due
Second Half Real Estate Taxes are due.
Nov 17, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Nov 18, 2021 Thu 7:00 PMCarlyle/Eisenhower East Design Review Board (DRB)
Information will be added at a later date.
Dec 1, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Dec 7, 2021 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission Regular Monthly Meeting
Regular monthly meeting of the Planning Commission
Dec 13, 2021 Mon 7:00 PMBoard of Zoning Appeals
Information will be added at a later date.
Dec 15, 2021 Wed 7:00 PMBoard of Architectural Review Hearing
Board of Architectural Review Regularly scheduled hearing.*Hearing end times are approximate.
Jan 4, 2022 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission Regular Monthly Meeting
Regular monthly meeting of the Planning Commission
Feb 1, 2022 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission Regular Monthly Meeting
Regular monthly meeting of the Planning Commission
Mar 1, 2022 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission Regular Monthly Meeting
Regular monthly meeting of the Planning Commission

Top