Calendar of Events

Historic Alexandria Calendar

Upcoming events from the Office of Historic Alexandria

Date    TimeEvent
Apr 3, 2020 Fri 9:00 AMEarly Giving Starts for Spring2Action
This year, the staff of the Historic Alexandria Museums is raising money to support the preservation of the Freedom House Museum.
Apr 4, 2020 Sat
CANCELLED-Story Time for Little Historians
Bring your little learners to the Alexandria Black History Museum for cultural stories and creative craft activities that introduce world history and folklore.
Apr 5, 2020 Sun
CANCELLED-Geek Tour - A Magical Apothecary
Learn about the muggle botanical science that inspired the potions and herbology of J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series and make your own magical sleeping potion!
Apr 6, 2020 Mon
CANCELLED-Alex's EJI Education and Programming Com
Regular Meeting
Apr 7, 2020 Tue
CANCELLED-Alexandria's EJI Public Outreach Meeting
Regular Meeting
Apr 8, 2020 Wed
CANCELLED-Historic Resources and Preservation Com
Regular Meeting
Apr 10, 2020 Fri
POSTPONED-Alexandria After-Work Concert Series
Co-sponsored by the Office of Historic Alexandria and the Folklore Society of Greater Washington, join us for monthly Friday-night concerts on the second Friday of the month.
Apr 13, 2020 Mon
CANCELLED-Alexandria-Caen Sister Cities Committee
Regular Meeting
Apr 14, 2020 Tue
CANCELLED: Rescheduled-Local Author Lecture Series
This event will be rescheduled for the fall.
Apr 15, 2020 Wed 7:00 AMSpring2Action for Freedom House
This year, the staff of the Historic Alexandria Museums is raising money to support the preservation of the Freedom House Museum.
Apr 15, 2020 Wed
CANCELLED-Alexandria's EJI Steering Com Meeting
Regular Meeting
Apr 15, 2020 Wed
CANCELLED-Alexandria Archaeological Commission
The Alexandria Archaeological Commission (AAC) monthly meeting
Apr 16, 2020 Thu
CANCELLED-Blossom Ball Dance Classes
In preparation for the Blossom Ball on May 2nd, learn 18th century English country dancing from expert dance instructors.
Apr 18, 2020 Sat
CANCELLED-Firefighting History Walking Tour
Explore Alexandria’s firefighting history on the Blazing a Trail: Alexandria’s Firefighting History tour.
Apr 19, 2020 Sun
CANCELLED-Geek Tour – Outlandish Tour
Learn about the role of 18th century female healers and apothecaries on this tour that focuses on the herbal medicines featured in Diana Gabaldon’s celebrated Outlander series of novels.
Apr 20, 2020 Mon
CANCELLED-Dundee-Helsingborg Sister Cities Com
Regular Meeting
Apr 20, 2020 Mon
CANCELLED-George Washington Birthday Com
Regular Meeting
Apr 20, 2020 Mon
CANCELLED-Public Records Advisory Commission
Regular meeting
Apr 21, 2020 Tue
CANCELLED-HARC meeting
Regular Meeting
Apr 23, 2020 Thu 6:00 PMAlexandria's EJI Lynching Remembrance
Please join us for a public remembrance of the lynching of Joseph H. McCoy on April 23, 1897.
Apr 23, 2020 Thu
CANCELLED-Blossom Ball Dance Classes
In preparation for the Blossom Ball on May 2nd, learn 18th century English country dancing from expert dance instructors.
Apr 25, 2020 Sat
POSTPONED-Community Remembrance Project Lecture
Join us for a series of four free lectures with historian Susan Strasser supporting the Alexandria Community Remembrance Project.
Apr 28, 2020 Tue
CANCELLED-Alexandria's EJI Marketing Meeting
Regular Meeting
Apr 28, 2020 Tue
CANCELLED-Phrenologist Nelson Sizer
David Keltz, renowned for his portrayal of Edgar Allan Poe, returns to the Alexandria History Museum at The Lyceum to portray phrenologist Nelson Sizer.
Apr 30, 2020 Thu
CANCELLED-Blossom Ball Dance Classes
In preparation for the Blossom Ball on May 2nd, learn 18th century English country dancing from expert dance instructors.
May 2, 2020 Sat
CANCELLED-Story Time for Little Historians
Bring your little learners to the Alexandria Black History Museum for cultural stories and creative craft activities that introduce world history and folklore.
May 2, 2020 Sat
CANCELLED-Blossom Ball
Join us for this Regency-era ball with live music, English country dancing, cash bar, and seasonal dessert collation.
May 4, 2020 Mon
CANCELLED-Alexandria's EJI Education Meeting
Regular Meeting
May 8, 2020 Fri
CANCELLED-Alexandria After-Work Concert Series
Co-sponsored by the Office of Historic Alexandria and the Folklore Society of Greater Washington, join us for monthly Friday-night concerts on the second Friday of the month.
May 10, 2020 Sun
CANCELLED-Mother’s Day Open House
Mothers and their families are admitted free at the Friendship Firehouse Museum on Mother’s Day.
May 10, 2020 Sun
CANCELLED-Free Mother’s Day Tours
Gadsby’s Tavern Museum is pleased to offer free tours on Mother’s Day for all visiting ladies!
May 10, 2020 Sun
CANCELLED-Free Mother’s Day Tours
The Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum is pleased to offer free tours on Mother’s Day for all visiting ladies!
May 12, 2020 Tue
CANCELLED-Alexandria's EJI Public Outreach Meeting
Regular Meeting
May 12, 2020 Tue
CANCELLED-Local Author Lecture Series
Join us for four history lectures and book signings by local historians. May’s lecture concludes the series, and features Charles Raasch, author of Imperfect Union: A Father's Search for His Son in the Aftermath of the Battle of Gettysburg.
May 13, 2020 Wed
CANCELLED-Historic Resources and Preservation Com
Regular Meeting
May 16, 2020 Sat
CANCELLED-Fort Tour for Armed Forces Day
In recognition of Armed Forces Day, combine a soldier-led guided tour of Fort Ward with a performance of Civil War brass band music!
May 18, 2020 Mon
CANCELLED-Dundee-Helsingborg Sister Cities Com
Regular Meeting
May 18, 2020 Mon
CANCELLED-George Washington Birthday Com
Regular Meeting
May 18, 2020 Mon
CANCELLED-Public Records Advisory Commission
Regular meeting
May 19, 2020 Tue
CANCELLED-HARC meeting
Regular Meeting
May 20, 2020 Wed
CANCELLED-Alexandria's EJI Steering Com Meeting
Regular Meeting
May 20, 2020 Wed
CANCELLED-Alexandria Archaeological Com (AAC)
The Alexandria Archaeological Commission (AAC) monthly meeting
May 26, 2020 Tue
CANCELLED-Alexandria's EJI Marketing Meeting
Regular Meeting
May 30, 2020 Sat
CANCELLED-Community Remembrance Project Lecture
Join us for a series of four free lectures with historian Susan Strasser supporting the Alexandria Community Remembrance Project.
Jun 1, 2020 Mon
CANCELLED-Alexandria's EJI Education Meeting
Regular Meeting
Jun 6, 2020 Sat
CANCELLED-Civil War Camp Day
Civil War reenactors present camp life activities, drills and firing demonstrations, displays of clothing and equipment, and civilian impressions.
Jun 6, 2020 Sat
CANCELLED-Specialty Tours - Hamilton’s BFFs
Hamilton’s world emerges through the rooms of Gadsby’s Tavern Museum.
Jun 6, 2020 Sat
CANCELLED-Story Time for Little Historians
Bring your little learners to the Alexandria Black History Museum for cultural stories and creative craft activities that introduce world history and folklore.
Jun 9, 2020 Tue
CANCELLED-Alexandria's EJI Public Outreach Meeting
Regular Meeting
Jun 10, 2020 Wed
CANCELLED-Historic Resources and Preservation Com
Regular Meeting
Jun 12, 2020 Fri 6:00 PMAlexandria After-Work Concert Series
Co-sponsored by the Office of Historic Alexandria and the Folklore Society of Greater Washington, join us for monthly Friday-night concerts on the second Friday of the month.
Jun 13, 2020 Sat 10:00 AMSpecialty Tours - Hamilton’s BFFs + Frenemies
Hamilton’s world emerges through the rooms of Gadsby’s Tavern Museum.
Jun 15, 2020 Mon 7:00 PMDundee-Helsingborg Sister Cities Committee
Regular Meeting
Jun 15, 2020 Mon 7:00 PMGeorge Washington Birthday Com
Regular Meeting
Jun 16, 2020 Tue 7:00 PMHARC meeting
Regular Meeting
Jun 17, 2020 Wed 5:00 PMAlexandria's EJI Steering Committee Meeting
Regular Meeting
Jun 17, 2020 Wed 7:00 PMAlexandria Archaeological Commission (AAC)
The Alexandria Archaeological Commission (AAC) monthly meeting
Jun 20, 2020 Sat 10:00 AMSpecialty Tours - Hamilton’s BFFs + Frenemies
Hamilton’s world emerges through the rooms of Gadsby’s Tavern Museum.
Jun 21, 2020 Sun 11:00 AMFather’s Day Open House
The Friendship Firehouse Museum is free for fathers and their families on Father’s Day.
Jun 21, 2020 Sun 1:00 PMFree Father’s Day Tours
Gadsby’s Tavern Museum is pleased to offer free tours on Father’s Day for all visiting men.
Jun 21, 2020 Sun 1:00 PMFree Father’s Day Tours
The Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum is pleased to offer free tours on Father’s Day for all visiting men!
Jun 23, 2020 Tue 7:00 PMAlexandria's EJI Marketing Meeting
Regular Meeting
Jun 27, 2020 Sat 10:00 AMSpecialty Tours - Hamilton’s BFFs + Frenemies
Hamilton’s world emerges through the rooms of Gadsby’s Tavern Museum.
Jun 27, 2020 Sat 1:00 PMCommunity Remembrance Project Lecture Series
Join us for a series of four free lectures with historian Susan Strasser supporting the Alexandria Community Remembrance Project.
Jul 13, 2020 Mon 9:00 AMAlexandria Archaeology Summer Camp
Registered campers learn excavation, documentation, and artifact processing at a real archaeology site and lab.
Jul 15, 2020 Wed 5:00 PMAlexandria's EJI Steering Committee Meeting
Regular Meeting
Jul 15, 2020 Wed 7:00 PMAlexandria Archaeological Commission (AAC)
The Alexandria Archaeological Commission (AAC) monthly meeting
Aug 19, 2020 Wed 5:00 PMAlexandria's EJI Steering Committee Meeting
Regular Meeting
Aug 19, 2020 Wed 7:00 PMAlexandria Archaeological Commission (AAC)
The Alexandria Archaeological Commission (AAC) monthly meeting
Sep 16, 2020 Wed 5:00 PMAlexandria's EJI Steering Committee Meeting
Regular Meeting
Sep 16, 2020 Wed 7:00 PMAlexandria Archaeological Commission (AAC)
The Alexandria Archaeological Commission (AAC) monthly meeting
Oct 16, 2020 Fri 7:00 PMRescheduled-Sister Cities Whisky Tasting
Join us for our best Scottish whisky tasting ever! Fabulous catered event includes live music, wine and a whisky expert from Edinburgh to guide you through a VIP tasting...all to raise funds for cultural and educational exchanges and activities with Dundee, Scotland and Helsingborg, Sweden.
Oct 21, 2020 Wed 7:00 PMAlexandria Archaeological Commission (AAC)
The Alexandria Archaeological Commission (AAC) monthly meeting
Nov 18, 2020 Wed 7:00 PMAlexandria Archaeological Commission (AAC)
The Alexandria Archaeological Commission (AAC) monthly meeting
Dec 16, 2020 Wed 6:30 PMAlexandria Archaeological Commission (AAC)
The Alexandria Archaeological Commission (AAC) monthly meeting

Top