Calendar of Events

Events & Public Meetings

Date    TimeEvent
Oct 21, 2019 Mon
Helsingborg-Dundee Sister Cities Committee
Regular Meeting
Oct 21, 2019 Mon 7:00 PMHelsingborg-Dundee Sister Cities Committee
Regular Meeting
Oct 21, 2019 Mon 7:00 PMGeorge Washington Birthday Com
Regular Meeting
Oct 24, 2019 Thu 7:00 PMAlexandria's EJI Marker and Soil Collection
First Meeting
Oct 26, 2019 Sat 11:00 AMLecture and Candy Tasting: Sweet as Sin
Join us for an interactive lecture and candy tasting focusing on the African American role in American candy making.
Oct 27, 2019 Sun 11:30 AMApothecary Extended Tour
While the building is small, there’s a lot more to see and learn than the regular 25-minute tour can cover.
Oct 28, 2019 Mon 7:00 PMAlexandria's EJI Marketing Meeting
First Meeting
Oct 29, 2019 Tue 7:00 PMAlexandria's EJI Education and Programming Meeting
First Meeting
Oct 30, 2019 Wed 7:30 PMPoe in Alexandria
Join us at The Alexandria History Museum at The Lyceum on Wednesday, October 30 or Thursday, October 31 to experience actor David Keltz as visionary author Edgar Allen Poe, recreating one of Poe’s 19th-century speaking engagements.
Oct 31, 2019 Thu 7:30 PMPoe in Alexandria
Join us at The Alexandria History Museum at The Lyceum on Wednesday, October 30 or Thursday, October 31 to experience actor David Keltz as visionary author Edgar Allen Poe, recreating one of Poe’s 19th-century speaking engagements.
Nov 2, 2019 Sat 11:00 AMStory Time for Little Historians
Bring your little learners to the Alexandria Black History Museum for cultural stories and creative craft activities that introduce world history and folklore.
Nov 3, 2019 Sun 11:00 AMGeek Tour – Behind the Scenes
If the regular 30 minute tour of the Apothecary Museum just isn’t enough, this is the tour for you!
Nov 6, 2019 Wed 7:00 PMDate Change: Lecture-The French Perspective
Presented by special guest Lecturer Jennifer Paxton, PhD, Professor, Catholic University.
Nov 8, 2019 Fri 6:00 PMAlexandria After-Work Concert Series
Join us in Old Town Alexandria each second Friday of the month for a concert sponsored by The Folklore Society of Greater Washington (FSGW) and The Office of Historic Alexandria.
Nov 9, 2019 Sat 10:00 AMCivil War Tours in honor of Veteran’s Day
Fort Ward Museum will offer two 90-minute soldier-led tours of historic Fort Ward at 10 a.m. and at 2 p.m.
Nov 9, 2019 Sat 11:00 AMLecture with C.R. Gibbs
Join us for an annual Veteran’s Day lecture with C.R. Gibbs, noted historian of the African diaspora.
Nov 9, 2019 Sat 2:00 PMCivil War Tours in honor of Veteran’s Day
Fort Ward Museum will offer two 90-minute soldier-led tours of historic Fort Ward at 10 a.m. and at 2 p.m.
Nov 11, 2019 Mon 7:00 PMAlexandria-Caen Sister Cities Committee
Regular Meeting
Nov 12, 2019 Tue 7:00 PMAlexandria's EJI Research Meeting
First Meeting
Nov 13, 2019 Wed 8:00 AMHistoric Resources and Preservation Com Meeting
Regular Meeting
Nov 13, 2019 Wed 7:00 PMAlexandria's EJI Fundraising Meeting
First Meeting
Nov 16, 2019 Sat 1:00 PMAlexandria's EJI Public Meeting
Second Meeting
Nov 16, 2019 Sat 1:30 PM“They Shall Not Grow Old” Film Screening
Join us for a screening of Peter Jackson’s acclaimed World War I documentary.
Nov 17, 2019 Sun 11:00 AMGeek Tour – Outlandish Tour
Learn about the role of 18th century female healers and apothecaries on this tour that focuses on the herbal medicines featured in Diana Gabaldon’s celebrated Outlander series of novels.
Nov 18, 2019 Mon 7:00 PMHelsingborg-Dundee Sister Cities Committee
Regular Meeting
Nov 19, 2019 Tue 7:00 PMHARC meeting
Regular Meeting
Nov 20, 2019 Wed 7:00 PMAlexandria's EJI Steering Committee Meeting
Regular Meeting
Nov 21, 2019 Thu 7:30 PMSortie of the Beaujolais Nouveau
Please join the Alexandria-Caen Sister Cities Committee and the Office of Historic Alexandria, as we participate in the world’s largest wine party! Beaujolais Nouveau Day is marked in France on the third Thursday in November, the earliest French law allows this year’s wine to be served.
Nov 23, 2019 Sat 10:00 AMKids Krafts
Come create and take home decorations and craft projects inspired by early firefighting history.
Nov 23, 2019 Sat 1:00 PMAlexandria Cider Festival
Enjoy a selection of ciders from more than 10 Virginia cideries.
Dec 2, 2019 Mon 7:00 PMAlexandria's EJI Public Pilgrimage to EJI
First meeting
Dec 7, 2019 Sat 11:00 AMStory Time for Little Historians
Bring your little learners to the Alexandria Black History Museum for cultural stories and creative craft activities that introduce world history and folklore.
Dec 7, 2019 Sat 11:00 AMScottish Walk Open House
Free admission
Dec 8, 2019 Sun 11:00 AMGeek Tour – Magical Apothecary
Learn about the muggle botanical science that inspired the potions and herbology of J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series, and make your own magical sleeping potion!
Dec 13, 2019 Fri 6:00 PMAlexandria After-Work Concert Series
Join us in Old Town Alexandria each second Friday of the month for a concert sponsored by The Folklore Society of Greater Washington (FSGW) and The Office of Historic Alexandria.
Dec 14, 2019 Sat 11:00 AMWorkshop: Kwanzaa
Join us for an annual Kwanzaa workshop suitable for adults and children.
Dec 14, 2019 Sat 12:00 PMCivil War Christmas in Camp
Get in the holiday spirit and learn how Christmas was observed during the Civil War.
Dec 14, 2019 Sat 5:00 PMYuletide by Candlelight
Travel through centuries of local history as you learn more about Alexandria during the holiday season!
Dec 15, 2019 Sun 2:00 PMColonial Handbell Ringers Concert
The Colonial English Handbell Ringers perform clad in colonial attire, bringing a 5-octave set of nearly 80 handbells from the world-famous Whitechapel foundry in London.
Dec 15, 2019 Sun 4:00 PMColonial Handbell Ringers Concert
The Colonial English Handbell Ringers perform clad in colonial attire, bringing a 5-octave set of nearly 80 handbells from the world-famous Whitechapel foundry in London.
Dec 16, 2019 Mon 7:00 PMHelsingborg-Dundee Sister Cities Committee
Regular Meeting
Dec 17, 2019 Tue 7:00 PMHARC meeting
Regular Meeting
Dec 18, 2019 Wed 7:00 PMAlexandria's EJI Steering Committee Meeting
Regular Meeting
Jan 15, 2020 Wed 7:30 PMAlexandria's EJI Public Meeting
Regular Meeting

Top