Calendar of Events

List of Calendar Events

Date    TimeEvent
Mar 30, 2017 Thu 6:30 PMThe History of the Civil War in SEVEN Songs
Join historian Carson Hudson and fiddler Arden Clark as they musically explore the tragic story of a time when America was at war with itself in the 1860s
Mar 30, 2017 Thu 6:45 PMOld Town North SAP Advisory Group Meeting #14
Old Town North SAP Advisory Group Meeting #14
Apr 1, 2017 Sat 10:00 AMExclusive Save Our Ship Lecture
Special lecture on new discoveries on Alexandria’s 18th-century ship by Benjamin Skolnik, Alexandria Archaeology. Find out the latest news about the ship excavated last year on the Alexandria Waterfront. Reservations are required; recommended donation $10.
Apr 1, 2017 Sat 7:00 PM13th Annual Rum Punch Challenge
Enjoy different rum punch creations in historic tavern.
Apr 2, 2017 Sun 1:00 PMMad Science!
What do super heroes, crazy animals, and explosions have in common? A mad scientist probably made them!
Apr 3, 2017 Mon 5:00 PMAd Hoc Waterfront Construction Monitoring Group
Scheduled meeting
Apr 4, 2017 Tue 6:30 PMBagpiper Craig Weir and the Highland Divas Concert
Alexandria, VA’s educational and cultural exchanges with Dundee, Scotland and Helsingborg, Sweden presents bagpiper Craig Weir and the Highland Divas.
Apr 9, 2017 Sun 12:15 PMApothecary of Mercy Civil War Tours
Explore the themes of PBS’ Mercy Street through the lens of this family-owned Apothecary that stayed in business through Alexandria’s occupation during the Civil War.
Apr 12, 2017 Wed 8:00 AMHistorical Restoration and Preservation Commission
Regular monthly meeting
Apr 13, 2017 Thu 7:00 PMOld Town North SAP Meeting
Old Town North SAP Meeting
Apr 13, 2017 Thu 7:30 PMFort Ward Interpretive Planning Committee
Regular meeting
Apr 17, 2017 Mon 7:30 PMPublic Records Advisory Commission
Regular meeting Rm. 1102A
Apr 18, 2017 Tue 7:30 AMWaterfront Commission
Regular monthly meeting
Apr 18, 2017 Tue 7:00 PMHuman Rights Commission
Regular monthly meeting
Apr 22, 2017 Sat 8:00 AMWindmill Hill Park Shoreline Groundbreaking
Consistent with the City Council approved 2003 Windmill Hill Park plan, the City of Alexandria is replacing the existing bulkhead with a natural shoreline. Construction activities are planned to begin in spring 2017 with substantial completion by summer 2018.
Apr 22, 2017 Sat 1:00 PMFirefighting History Walking Tour
Explore Alexandria’s firefighting history on the “Blazing a Trail: Alexandria’s Firefighting History” tour.
Apr 27, 2017 Thu 7:00 PMOld Town North SAP Advisory Group Meeting #15
Old Town North SAP Advisory Group Meeting #15
May 11, 2017 Thu 7:30 PMFort Ward Interpretive Planning Committee
Regular meeting
May 14, 2017 Sun 1:00 PMMother’s Day Open House
Mothers and their families are admitted free at the Friendship Firehouse Museum on Mother’s Day.
May 20, 2017 Sat 1:00 PMCivil War Firefighting Walking Tour
The “We’ve Been Burned: Alexandria Firefighters During the Civil War” walking tour explores firefighting during the occupation.
May 25, 2017 Thu 7:00 PMOld Town North SAP Advisory Group Meeting #16
Old Town North SAP Advisory Group Meeting #16
Jun 8, 2017 Thu 7:30 PMFort Ward Interpretive Planning Committee
Regular meeting
Jun 13, 2017 Tue 7:30 PMLecture-“The Journal of Anne Reading"
Margaret Irwin will discuss Anne’s life dressed as a Civil War nurse, and will sign copies of her book following the program.
Jun 18, 2017 Sun 1:00 PMFather’s Day Open House
The Friendship Firehouse Museum is free for fathers and their families on Father’s Day.

Top