Main content
City of Alexandria Homepage
  • Calendar
  • List of Calendar Events
  • Saturday, February 28  •  25°Mostly Cloudy Air Quality: Yellow
    CloseWeather Forecast
    Today: High 31° Low 20°
    Partly CloudyAir Quality: Yellow
    Sun: High 33° Low 31°
    PM Wintry MixAir Quality: Yellow
    Mon: High 43° Low 25°
    Partly CloudyAir Quality: Yellow
    Tue: High 39° Low 36°
    PM ShowersAir Quality: Yellow
    Wed: High 60° Low 35°
    RainAir Quality: Yellow
    City of Alexandria, VA City of Alexandria, VA
    Calendar of Events

    List of Calendar Events

    Date    TimeEvent
    Mar 4, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMCivil War Lecture by Scott Nelson
    Iron Confederacies: Southern Railways, Klan Violence and Reconstruction, by Scott Nelson, The College of William & Mary
    Mar 11, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMFirst Ladies of the Civil War
    This illustrated lecture will explore the lives of Varina Howell Davis and Mary Todd Lincoln, examining them not only as First Ladies but also as wives, mothers, and widows.
    Mar 15, 2015 Sun 3:00 PMPresidential Salon with James Madison
    Join President James Madison, as presented by John Douglas Hall, at Gadsby’s Tavern Museum
    Apr 11, 2015 Sat 1:00 PMFirefighting in Civil War Alexandria Walking Tour
    The “We’ve Been Burned: Alexandria Firefighters During the Civil War” walking tour will explore firefighting during the Union occupation.
    Apr 30, 2015 Thu 7:30 PMCivil War Lecture by Leslie Rowland
    Freedom: A Documentary History of Emancipation, 1861-1867
    May 21, 2015 Thu 7:30 PMCivil War Lecture by Susan Cumbey
    The Art of Memorializing the Civil War
    May 31, 2015 Sun 3:00 PMPresidential Salon with James Madison
    Join President James Madison, as presented by John Douglas Hall, at Gadsby’s Tavern Museum
    Jun 11, 2015 Thu 7:30 PMCivil War Lecture by Caroline Janney
    Remembering the Civil War
    Jun 13, 2015 Sat 10:00 AMCivil War Camp Day
    Program is weather dependent
    Jun 27, 2015 Sat 9:00 AMCivil War Kids Drill Day
    Program is weather dependent.
    Jul 19, 2015 Sun 3:00 PMPresidential Salon with James Madison
    Join President James Madison, as presented by John Douglas Hall, at Gadsby’s Tavern Museum
    Sep 27, 2015 Sun 3:00 PMPresidential Salon with James Madison
    Join President James Madison, as presented by John Douglas Hall, at Gadsby’s Tavern Museum
    Oct 10, 2015 Sat 10:00 AMCivil War Artillery Day
    Program is weather dependent.
    Nov 7, 2015 Sat 10:00 AMSoldier-led Tours of Fort Ward
    In honor of Veteran’s Day.
    Nov 15, 2015 Sun 3:00 PMPresidential Salon with James Madison
    Join President James Madison, as presented by John Douglas Hall, at Gadsby’s Tavern Museum
    Dec 12, 2015 Sat 12:00 PMCivil War Christmas in Camp
    Some activities weather dependent.

    Office of Communications
    301 King St., Room 3500
    Alexandria, VA 22314
    703.746.3960
    Fax: 703.838.6343
    E-mail

    Office Hours:
    Monday - Friday,
    8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.