Main content
City of Alexandria Homepage
  • Calendar
  • List of Calendar Events
  • Thursday, March 5  •  National Weather Service Advisory 45°Light Rain Air Quality: Yellow
    CloseWeather Forecast
    Today: High 33° Low 8°
    SnowAir Quality: Yellow
    Fri: High 29° Low 11°
    SunnyAir Quality: Yellow
    Sat: High 44° Low 25°
    Mostly SunnyAir Quality: Yellow
    Sun: High 47° Low 28°
    Mostly SunnyAir Quality: Yellow
    Alert

    The National Weather Service has issued a Winter Storm Warning for the Alexandria area for Thursday, March 5, from midnight to 9 p.m. A snow emergency has been declared for the City of Alexandria, with enforcement of snow emergency routes to begin at 7 a.m. on Thursday, March 5. Significant accumulation of ice and snow may result in a Level 2 storm, which means that travel could be dangerous and some residential roads may not be clear until later in the week. Because the storm is expected to begin with rain, pre-treating streets with salt brine will not be effective. This type of precipitation often results in power outages. The City urges all residents and businesses to be prepared on an ongoing basis for the possibility that it may not be safe to travel for three or more days, and that power may be out during this period.

    City of Alexandria, VA City of Alexandria, VA
    Calendar of Events

    List of Calendar Events

    Date    TimeEvent
    Mar 5, 2015 Thu 7:00 PMAffordable Housing Advisory Committee
    Regular meeting
    Mar 9, 2015 Mon 7:00 PMCommission on Information Technology
    Regular monthly meeting
    Mar 9, 2015 Mon 7:00 PMAlexandria-Caen Sister City Committee
    Regular monthly meeting
    Mar 10, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMBudget & Fiscal Affairs Advisory Committee
    BFAAC Budget Report Work Meeting
    Mar 10, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Meeting
    City Council Regular Legislative Meeting
    Mar 11, 2015 Wed 6:30 PMPlanning Commission - Eisenhower West Work Session
    The Planning Commission will hold a work session to provide an update on the progress of the Eisenhower West Small Area Plan and draft land use framework on Wednesday, March 11 at 6:30pm in the City Council Work Room; 301 King Street.
    Mar 12, 2015 Thu 7:30 PMBoard Of Zoning Appeals - Regular Public Hearing
    Regular public hearing of the Board of Zoning Appeals. Hearing end time is approximate.
    Mar 13, 2015 Fri 6:00 PMREBROADCAST - 3/10 City Council Meeting
    City Council Regular Legislative Meeting
    Mar 14, 2015 Sat 9:30 AMCity Council Public Hearing
    City Council Public Hearing
    Mar 16, 2015 Mon 7:00 PMAlexandria Sister Cities Committee
    Regularly monthly meeting
    Mar 16, 2015 Mon 7:30 PMPublic Records Advisory Commission
    Regular scheduled meeting, Room 1102A
    Mar 16, 2015 Mon 7:30 PMEnvironmental Policy Commission
    Regular Meeting
    Mar 17, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMBudget & Fiscal Affairs Advisory Committee
    BFAAC Regular Monthly Meeting
    Mar 18, 2015 Wed 7:00 PMTransportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    Transportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    Mar 18, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Old & Historic Alexandria District Hearing
    Monthly Old & Historic Alexandria District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Mar 21, 2015 Sat 9:30 AMREBROADCAST - 3/14 City Council Public Hearing
    City Council Public Hearing
    Mar 23, 2015 Mon 5:00 PMCity Council - School Board Subcommittee
    Regular monthly meeting
    Mar 23, 2015 Mon 7:30 PMAlexandria Traffic and Parking Board
    Regular monthly meeting
    Mar 24, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Meeting
    City Council Regular Legislative Meeting
    Mar 24, 2015 Tue 7:30 PMAlexandria/Gyumri Sister City Committee
    Regularly scheduled meeting
    Mar 25, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Parker-Gray District Hearing
    Monthly Parker-Gray District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Mar 27, 2015 Fri 6:00 PMREBROADCAST - 3/24 City Council Meeting
    City Council Regular Legislative Meeting
    Apr 1, 2015 Wed 8:30 AMSupplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board
    Meeting of the Supplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board. The primary function of the Board is to manage the investments of the pension fund. board.
    Apr 1, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Old & Historic Alexandria District Hearing
    Monthly Old & Historic Alexandria District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Apr 7, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission - Regular Public Hearing
    Planning Commission regular monthly public hearing. Hearing end times are approximate.
    Apr 9, 2015 Thu 7:30 PMBoard Of Zoning Appeals - Regular Public Hearing
    Regular public hearing of the Board of Zoning Appeals. Hearing end time is approximate.
    Apr 13, 2015 Mon 7:00 PMAlexandria-Caen Sister City Committee
    Regular monthly meeting
    Apr 14, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMBudget & Fiscal Affairs Advisory Committee
    BFAAC Budget Report Work Meeting
    Apr 14, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Meeting
    City Council Regular Legislative Meeting
    Apr 15, 2015 Wed 7:00 PMTransportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    Transportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    Apr 15, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Old & Historic Alexandria District Hearing
    Monthly Old & Historic Alexandria District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Apr 17, 2015 Fri 6:00 PMREBROADCAST - 4/14 City Council Meeting
    City Council Regular Legislative Meeting
    Apr 18, 2015 Sat 9:30 AMCity Council Public Hearing
    City Council Public Hearing
    Apr 20, 2015 Mon 7:00 PMAlexandria Sister Cities Committee
    Regularly monthly meeting
    Apr 22, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Parker-Gray District Hearing
    Monthly Parker-Gray District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Apr 25, 2015 Sat 9:30 AMREBROADCAST - 4/18 City Council Public Hearing
    City Council Public Hearing
    Apr 28, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Meeting
    City Council Regular Legislative Meeting
    Apr 28, 2015 Tue 7:30 PMAlexandria/Gyumri Sister City Committee
    Regularly scheduled meeting
    May 1, 2015 Fri 6:00 PMREBROADCAST - 4/28 City Council Meeting
    City Council Regular Legislative Meeting
    May 5, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission - Regular Public Hearing
    Planning Commission regular monthly public hearing. Hearing end times are approximate.
    May 6, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Old & Historic Alexandria District Hearing
    Monthly Old & Historic Alexandria District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    May 11, 2015 Mon 7:00 PMCommission on Information Technology
    Regular monthly meeting
    May 11, 2015 Mon 7:00 PMAlexandria-Caen Sister City Committee
    Regular monthly meeting
    May 12, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Meeting
    City Council Regular Legislative Meeting
    May 14, 2015 Thu 7:30 PMBoard Of Zoning Appeals - Regular Public Hearing
    Regular public hearing of the Board of Zoning Appeals. Hearing end time is approximate.
    May 15, 2015 Fri 6:00 PMREBROADCAST - 5/12 City Council Meeting
    City Council Regular Legislative Meeting
    May 16, 2015 Sat 9:30 AMCity Council Public Hearing
    City Council Public Hearing
    May 17, 2015 Sun 12:00 PMTake 25
    Outdoor event to provide safety information to parents in honor or National Missing Children's Day. Features community vendors, entertainment, and free child friendly activities.
    May 18, 2015 Mon 7:00 PMAlexandria Sister Cities Committee
    Regularly monthly meeting
    May 20, 2015 Wed 7:00 PMTransportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    Transportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    May 20, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Old & Historic Alexandria District Hearing
    Monthly Old & Historic Alexandria District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    May 21, 2015 Thu 8:30 AMSupplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board
    Meeting of the Supplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board. The primary function of the Board is to manage the investments of the pension fund. board.
    May 23, 2015 Sat 9:30 AMREBROADCAST - 5/16 City Council Public Hearing
    City Council Public Hearing
    May 25, 2015 Mon 8:00 AMCity Offices Closed for Memorial Day
    City Offices Closed for Memorial Day
    May 26, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Meeting
    City Council Regular Legislative Meeting
    May 26, 2015 Tue 7:30 PMAlexandria/Gyumri Sister City Committee
    Regularly scheduled meeting
    May 27, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Parker-Gray District Hearing
    Monthly Parker-Gray District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    May 29, 2015 Fri 6:00 PMREBROADCAST - 5/26 City Council Meeting
    City Council Regular Legislative Meeting
    Jun 2, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission - Regular Public Hearing
    Planning Commission regular monthly public hearing. Hearing end times are approximate.
    Jun 3, 2015 Wed 7:30 AMBAR Old & Historic Alexandria District Hearing
    Monthly Old & Historic Alexandria District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Jun 8, 2015 Mon 7:00 PMAlexandria-Caen Sister City Committee
    Regular monthly meeting
    Jun 10, 2015 Wed 7:00 PMCity Council Meeting
    City Council Regular Legislative Meeting
    Jun 11, 2015 Thu 8:30 AMFire and Police Officers Pension Plan Board Meet
    Firefighters and Police Officers Pension Plan Board will have a retreat to receive education on investment topics. The Board may also have a regular business meeting.
    Jun 11, 2015 Thu 8:30 AMSupplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board
    Meeting of the Supplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board. The primary function of the Board is to manage the investments of the pension fund. Joint meeting with Fire and Police pension board.
    Jun 11, 2015 Thu 7:30 PMBoard Of Zoning Appeals - Regular Public Hearing
    Regular public hearing of the Board of Zoning Appeals. Hearing end time is approximate.
    Jun 12, 2015 Fri 6:00 PMREBROADCAST - 6/9 City Council Meeting
    City Council Regular Legislative Meeting
    Jun 13, 2015 Sat 9:30 AMCity Council Public Hearing
    City Council Public Hearing
    Jun 15, 2015 Mon 7:00 PMAlexandria Sister Cities Committee
    Regularly monthly meeting
    Jun 17, 2015 Wed 7:00 PMTransportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    Transportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    Jun 17, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Old & Historic Alexandria District Hearing
    Monthly Old & Historic Alexandria District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Jun 20, 2015 Sat 9:30 AMREBROADCAST - 6/13 City Council Public Hearing
    City Council Public Hearing
    Jun 23, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMCity Council Meeting
    City Council Regular Legislative Meeting
    Jun 23, 2015 Tue 7:30 PMAlexandria/Gyumri Sister City Committee
    Regularly scheduled meeting
    Jun 24, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Parker-Gray District Hearing
    Monthly Parker-Gray District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Jun 26, 2015 Fri 6:00 PMREBROADCAST - 6/23 City Council Meeting
    City Council Regular Legislative Meeting
    Jul 1, 2015 Wed 8:30 AMSupplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board
    Meeting of the Supplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board. The primary function of the Board is to manage the investments of the pension fund. board.
    Jul 1, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Old & Historic Alexandria District Hearing
    Monthly Old & Historic Alexandria District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Jul 3, 2015 Fri 8:00 AMCity Offices Closed for Independence Day
    City Offices Closed for Independence Day
    Jul 7, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission - Regular Public Hearing
    Planning Commission regular monthly public hearing. Hearing end times are approximate.
    Jul 9, 2015 Thu 7:30 PMBoard Of Zoning Appeals - Regular Public Hearing
    Regular public hearing of the Board of Zoning Appeals. Hearing end time is approximate.
    Jul 13, 2015 Mon 7:00 PMCommission on Information Technology
    Regular monthly meeting
    Jul 15, 2015 Wed 7:00 PMTransportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    Transportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    Jul 15, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Old & Historic Alexandria District Hearing
    Monthly Old & Historic Alexandria District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Jul 20, 2015 Mon 7:00 PMAlexandria Sister Cities Committee
    Regularly monthly meeting
    Jul 22, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Parker-Gray District Hearing
    Monthly Parker-Gray District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Jul 28, 2015 Tue 7:30 PMAlexandria/Gyumri Sister City Committee
    Regularly scheduled meeting
    Aug 5, 2015 Wed 8:30 AMSupplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board
    Meeting of the Supplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board. The primary function of the Board is to manage the investments of the pension fund. board.
    Aug 25, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMAlexandria/Gyumri Sister City Committee
    Regularly scheduled meeting
    Sep 1, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission - Regular Public Hearing
    Planning Commission regular monthly public hearing. Hearing end times are approximate.
    Sep 2, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Old & Historic Alexandria District Hearing
    Monthly Old & Historic Alexandria District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Sep 7, 2015 Mon 8:00 AMCity Offices Closed for Labor Day
    City Offices Closed for Labor Day
    Sep 9, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Parker-Gray District Hearing
    Monthly Parker-Gray District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Sep 10, 2015 Thu 8:30 AMSupplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board
    Meeting of the Supplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board. The primary function of the Board is to manage the investments of the pension fund. board.
    Sep 10, 2015 Thu 7:30 PMBoard Of Zoning Appeals - Regular Public Hearing
    Regular public hearing of the Board of Zoning Appeals. Hearing end time is approximate.
    Sep 16, 2015 Wed 7:00 PMTransportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    Transportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    Sep 16, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Old & Historic Alexandria District Hearing
    Monthly Old & Historic Alexandria District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Oct 6, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission - Regular Public Hearing
    Planning Commission regular monthly public hearing. Hearing end times are approximate.
    Oct 7, 2015 Wed 8:30 AMSupplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board
    Meeting of the Supplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board. The primary function of the Board is to manage the investments of the pension fund. board.
    Oct 7, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Old & Historic Alexandria District Hearing
    Monthly Old & Historic Alexandria District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Oct 8, 2015 Thu 7:30 PMBoard Of Zoning Appeals - Regular Public Hearing
    Regular public hearing of the Board of Zoning Appeals. Hearing end time is approximate.
    Oct 12, 2015 Mon 8:00 AMCity Offices Closed for Columbus Day
    City Offices Closed for Columbus Day
    Oct 21, 2015 Wed 7:00 PMTransportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    Transportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    Oct 21, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Old & Historic Alexandria District Hearing
    Monthly Old & Historic Alexandria District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Oct 28, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Parker-Gray District Hearing
    Monthly Parker-Gray District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Nov 3, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission - Regular Public Hearing
    Planning Commission regular monthly public hearing. Hearing end times are approximate.
    Nov 4, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Old & Historic Alexandria District Hearing
    Monthly Old & Historic Alexandria District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Nov 11, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Parker-Gray District Hearing
    Monthly Parker-Gray District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Nov 12, 2015 Thu 8:30 AMSupplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board
    Meeting of the Supplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board. The primary function of the Board is to manage the investments of the pension fund. board.
    Nov 12, 2015 Thu 7:30 PMBoard Of Zoning Appeals - Regular Public Hearing
    Regular public hearing of the Board of Zoning Appeals. Hearing end time is approximate.
    Nov 18, 2015 Wed 7:00 PMTransportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    Transportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    Nov 18, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Old & Historic Alexandria District Hearing
    Monthly Old & Historic Alexandria District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Nov 26, 2015 Thu 8:00 AMCity Offices Closed for Thanksgiving
    City Offices Closed for Thanksgiving Holiday
    Nov 27, 2015 Fri 8:00 AMCity Offices Closed for Thanksgiving
    City Offices Closed for Thanksgiving Holiday
    Dec 1, 2015 Tue 7:00 PMPlanning Commission - Regular Public Hearing
    Planning Commission regular monthly public hearing. Hearing end times are approximate.
    Dec 2, 2015 Wed 8:30 AMSupplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board
    Meeting of the Supplemental Retirement Plan Pension Board. The primary function of the Board is to manage the investments of the pension fund. board.
    Dec 2, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Old & Historic Alexandria District Hearing
    Monthly Old & Historic Alexandria District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Dec 9, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Parker-Gray District Hearing
    Monthly Parker-Gray District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Dec 10, 2015 Thu 7:30 PMBoard Of Zoning Appeals - Regular Public Hearing
    Regular public hearing of the Board of Zoning Appeals. Hearing end time is approximate.
    Dec 16, 2015 Wed 7:00 PMTransportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    Transportation Commission Monthly Meeting
    Dec 16, 2015 Wed 7:30 PMBAR Old & Historic Alexandria District Hearing
    Monthly Old & Historic Alexandria District Board of Architectural Review hearing
    Dec 24, 2015 Thu 8:00 AMCity Offices Closed for Christmas Holiday
    City Offices Closed for Christmas Holiday
    Dec 25, 2015 Fri 8:00 AMCity Offices Closed for Christmas Holiday
    City Offices Closed for Christmas Holiday

    Office of Communications
    301 King St., Room 3500
    Alexandria, VA 22314
    703.746.3960
    Fax: 703.838.6343
    E-mail

    Office Hours:
    Monday - Friday,
    8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.